New Old Profile ~ Links Rings Cast ~ Email G-book Notes ~ Host Image Design

Timothy Speaks
2004-06-17, 2:34 p.m.

I am sharing becasue of a special request by a good friend...

Hello, boys and girls, and welcome to another installment of Anathema�s Brink. For some reason you keep appearing everyday to investigate the ramblings of my mind. Why do you do that? Are you one of those curious cats who lives to be nosy? Perhaps you are one of those who crane the neck as you pass mangled bodies. Or maybe you are like me. You watch a few minutes of Jerry Springer from time to time so that you can feel better about your own life and the situations around you. Whatever the case may be, I welcome you back.

As you can see, there is no new terror posted today, no new �As the Stomach Churns� episode, no poetry, no rants, no raves, no loves, no hates. �So what the hell is there?� you ask yourself. �Has this broad finally lost it all? Has the blonde sunk too deep into her scalp that it now controls the brain cell?�

To answer: I still have it. Well, some of it. And my brain cell was stolen recently by another Gemini. So that�s not it either.

Actually, I have tired of swimming in a muddy swamp with spineless, thoughtless worms. I have grown weary of attempting to educate the uneducatable, teach the unteachable, instruct the uninstructable. People no longer think for themselves. Hell, they no longer think at all it seems. Where are the profound statements that should make us proud to be part of our generation? Where are the acts of courage and kindness that should remind us why we exist? Where is the change, the outcry, the refusal to be dogs whipped by a bureaucratic succubus machine we call a republic?

I don�t know either . . . and it scares me to no end. Which brings me to today�s post. Below, you will find words worth reading, worth memorizing, worth repeating. It is the mantra of those before us, a model for us now, a lesson for those who come next. Below are the words of Timothy Leary, a man who knew that the brain is more than skull filler. It can think, reason, interpret, analyze and recall. As Bob Marley once said, �Emancipate yourself from mental slavery. None but ourselves can free our minds.� So without further ado...

Think for yourself

Question authority

Throughout human history, as our species has faced the frightening,terrorizing fact that we do not know who we are, or where we are going in this ocean of chaos, it has been the authorities, the political, the religious, the educational authorities who attempted to comfort us by giving us order, rules, regulations, informing, forming in our minds their view of reality. To think for yourself you must question authority and learn how to put yourself in a state of vulnerable, open-mindedness; chaotic, confused, vulnerability to inform yourself.

Think for yourself.

Question authority.

If I told you that the sky was orange, the clouds are green, and the air is clean and breatheable, would you believe me? If I said that the man you never met has your best interests at heart, could you trust me? If I were to declare that I alone hold the secrets and the answers, would you listen?

If you would, if you could, if you did, then you have fallen victim. . . because in your ignorance, you believed without question, followed without a guide, lived without life. You have become one of the masses: an uninformed American who believes whatever your little box tells you without regard. And I pity you for it . . .

I hope for your sake that I make enough money in the future not to care that you are burdening my society with your prolific ignorance.

If you wouldn�t, if you couldn�t, if you didn�t, then welcome to my world. Please hang around for a bit. We need you here. . .

P.S. For those who saw �a republic� and thought, �Duh! We are a democracy,� I feel so sorry for you. You are worse off than I thought.


Write here, write away (click here to add your own entry)

0 person(s) have commented, really

last - next