New Old Profile ~ Links Rings Cast ~ Email G-book Notes ~ Host Image Design

eat your heart out.
2002-12-14, 5:22 p.m.

This is an interesting place. For awhile it seems like a message board, with everyone responding to what's been said before.

And then it starts to turn into a random short weird thing bit. I like it. It's an interesting experiment. If given a forum in which there is no unifying factor, topic, schedule, anything, how is it used?

And the answer seems to be: mostly the same short random shit that's in most diary entries, with a little bit of someone's life and feelings through in. It's a microcosm of the online diarying world.

I find that interesting.

I'm not sure what I want to write here, besides to comment on this "place."

I'm feeling kind of nervous now, because I have to do a Lincoln Douglas debate. Probably at the varsity level. Dude, I'm a policy novice. I'll have no bloody idea what I'm going to say. All these varsity debaters will know all the arguments that can be run because they've been debating this resolution for nearly 2 months.

(those of you who don't know anything about actual, formal debating will have little idea of what that means. Suffice it to say that I'm inexperienced with debating in general and this topic in particular, and that my opponents will likely be experienced on both counts.)

Plus, I'm really hungry. Here is a list of what I have had to eat today:

small bowl of oatmeal with butter and maple syrup.

Earl Grey tea.

One piece of grape flavored gum, chewed for about 20 minutes.

One square Ghirardelli dark chocolate.

One of those weird little breath fresheners that's like a little sheet of gelatin with mint flavoring on it.

One piece of Trident White Teeth gum.

That was all. I didn't really have dinner the night before, either. I had chips and soda. I got about 4 hours of sleep when I really needed 9 or 10. I had to stand up in front of a judge and talk confidently and reasonably.

I had to listen and take notes on 14 year olds who are reading as fast as they can and tripping over themselves, and then I had to respond coherently to what they said. All on a painfully empty stomach.

I was watching the quarter finals for varsity Lincoln Douglas, and my stomach kept growling. Not that loudly, but I felt like everyone could hear. I don't suppose anyone noticed.

It was an interesting round, too. Not that I have much experience with this. They were both excellent debaters, and made good arguments. I felt like I understood the judges' decisions, and pretty much agreed, even though my flow (that's the notes I took) was pretty shoddy. I'm not used to flowing Lincoln Douglas, and I think I didn't get down some key points. But I heard and understood them, so I suppose that's alright.

Still, I have no idea what I'm going to do on Monday. I assume whoever is judging/debating me will be kind, because they know I'm doing this so that they'll have a better shot at going to Nationals, but still. I'd like do at least do a semi-decent novice Lincoln Douglas job of it.

I shouldn't care about this, but I do.

E.


Write here, write away (click here to add your own entry)

0 person(s) have commented, really

last - next