New Old Profile ~ Links Rings Cast ~ Email G-book Notes ~ Host Image Design

spirited away (includes spoilers)
2003-04-20, 1:47 a.m.

I saw spirited away yesterday. I was absolutely blown away. I love miyazaki's work. It is possibly better than Princess Mononoke. I was talkign to Mike about it, today and he got a lot different from it then I did, he didn't find it very kid friendly, which i find weird, since I watched it with Ethan. Ethan plays onimusha and tenchu though, so like regular kids, like 8+ definitely it's okay. Mike said that the themes were dark, and I've heard that a lot before seeing it, and i never found that with the movie either, guess it could be interpreted that way, but the prevailing theme for me seemed to be learning about yourself and being strong and independent. Of course the whole monster (noface) being scary and intense is always mentioned too. I never got that either. For one thing, he didn't kill them, he just ate them, at the end of the movie they come out just fine. The only thing that confused me at first was if noface was good or evil. And that becomes obvious. He's good but he's poisoned by the greed in the bathhouse. He was only eating those that were greedy (so all of them really...) thats why he never ate chihiro though. she didn't want his stuff. He offered and she didn't accept it. he was shaking the money at her, and she looked at it and she said no thank you. and he asked what she wanted and she said to leave. even with the keys at first. he offered them to her. she didn't take them. she used them after he dropped them. but it wasn't greed, it was definitely a gift, whereas, the frog, was like "money money money" and he took it right from his hands.

Umm excuse the rant. Mike got me thinking. i was just like. enthralled.

- Keni


Write here, write away (click here to add your own entry)

0 person(s) have commented, really

last - next